Print Page  |  Close Window

Investor Relations

SEC Filings

GRAHAM HOLDINGS CO filed this Form DEF 14A on 03/23/2017
Entire Document

Compensation Committee

The functions of the Compensation Committee include (i) reviewing and approving the compensation of the Company’s Chief Executive Officer and President and other members of senior management (including, among other elements of compensation, annual base salary, annual incentive opportunities and long-term incentive opportunities); (ii) overseeing the administration and determination of awards under the Company’s compensation plans; and (iii) preparing any report on executive compensation required by the rules and regulations of the SEC. A current copy of the Compensation Committee’s Charter is available on the Company’s website,; a copy of such Charter will be furnished without charge to any shareholder upon written request addressed to the Treasurer, Graham Holdings Company at 1300 North 17th Street, Suite 1700, Arlington, VA 22209.

Lee C. Bollinger, Barry Diller, Anne M. Mulcahy (Chairman) and Larry D. Thompson served on the Compensation Committee in 2016. All members of the Compensation Committee are non-employee Directors and have been determined to be “independent” within the meaning of the listing requirements of the New York Stock Exchange applicable to service on compensation committees.

The Compensation Committee held six meetings in 2016.

Finance Committee

The functions of the Finance Committee include (i) reviewing with management the capital needs of the Company and (ii) considering and making recommendations to the Board related to dividend policy, major acquisitions and dispositions of businesses, incurrence of indebtedness, selection of managers of defined benefit plan assets, stock repurchase programs and certain other financial matters.

Christopher C. Davis (Chairman), Barry Diller, Thomas S. Gayner, Donald E. Graham, Timothy J. O’Shaughnessy and Katharine Weymouth served on the Finance Committee in 2016.

The Finance Committee held one meeting in 2016.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee has and may exercise all of the powers of the Board that may be delegated by law in the management of the business and affairs of the Company and exercises the authority of the Board between meetings.

Christopher C. Davis, Barry Diller, Donald E. Graham (Chairman), Anne M. Mulcahy, Ronald L. Olson and Timothy J. O’Shaughnessy serve on the Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee held no meetings in 2016.

Meeting Attendance

The Board held a total of five meetings in 2016. Each Director attended at least 75% of the meetings of the Board and the committees of the Board on which the Director served with the exception of Mr. Diller.

The Board does not have a policy of requiring Directors to attend annual meetings of shareholders and leaves it at the discretion of each Director as to whether he or she will attend the meeting. In addition to the Chairman, nine Directors attended the 2016 Annual Meeting of Shareholders.

Director Compensation

During 2016, non-employee Directors received the following annual payments:


    $150,000 as a cash retainer; and


    reimbursement of out-of-pocket expenses for the meetings they attended.

Each non-employee Chair of a committee of the Board received an additional $20,000. Members of the Audit Committee received an additional $20,000 annually for their service on that committee. Employee Directors received no compensation for serving on the Board.